top of page

Gala retain the Borders Reserve League Cup.

Full Time Result:

Gala A 12 - 0 Kelso 2XV

Both teams started slowly, with poor passing and defence allowing both teams to pick up yards. Gala worked hard in attack to retain the ball, and on the 20th minute quick hands from Rex Jeffrey and Steven Patterson put Ryan Mania in great space, Mania was tackled on the 5m line however a Sonny Bill' like offload put Graham Dun in for the score. Unfortunately the conversion was wide of the uprights so the score remained just 5-0.

The game remained just 5-0 to the maroons for the large majority of the game. Gala saw two attempted penalty kicks go to the right of the uprights and missed out on going 11-0 up. Kelso showed some promising attacking play and started hitting the maroons defence hard, Angus Dun, Robbie Irvine, Iain Ross and Neil Lees quickly put a stop to that. After some great breakdown work from the centre pair in Iain Ross and Daniel Nicholson, Gala found themselves in great field position. Rex Jeffrey stepped up to the plate, playing out of his preferred position of Inside Centre and managed the Gala side wearing the 10 jersey for the whole 80 minutes. Eventually after great line speed from Declan Broatch, Rex Jeffrey saw an opportunity and charged towards the line, powering off three Kelso defenders to score the Maroons 2nd try of the night. Fergus Johnston stepped up to take the conversion and slotted it right through the middle of the uprights taking the score to 12-0 with little over 10 minutes left.

Overall, the game was well contested, and very even throughout. At points the game could've gone either way, the maroons however managed to hold their nerve and retain the trophy. A fantastic effort from all 22 maroons tonight, especially those who played out of their regular positions.

1 Kyle Scott

2 Jack Easson

3 Andrew Brown

4 Blair Reavely

5 Declan Broatch

6 Neil Lees

7 Ben Gill

8 Robbie Irvine

9 Gavin Hamilton

10 Rex Jeffrey (1 Try - 68')

11 Steven Patterson

12 Iain Ross

13 Daniel Nicholson

14 Graham Dun (1 Try - 20')

15 Ryan Mania

16 Terry Logan

17 Jamie Dewar

18 Chris Keen

19 Angus Dun

20 Lachlan Johnston

21 Fergus Johnston (1 Conversion - 69')

22 Cammy Finlayson

There are no more 15s or 7s fixtures for Gala A this season, for more maroons action the Gala RFC 1st Team are playing 7s in the 2019 Langholm 7s this Saturday 27th April 2019 and the YM are playing in Penicuik 7s on the same date.

365 views0 comments


bottom of page